Migraine!

I’ve finally reached a point where the edge seems to have worn off of this bad patch enough to mean that I’m not constantly ticcing every second of every day again as long as I keep myself occupied.  Bass guitar helps, video games help, even reading a book.

Then I come up against lovely little moments like today where I woke up with the ghost of a headache, which over the day made the transition from ghost to screaming banshee!  I have a suspicion that I may have further damaged my neck during this patch, and it’s probably not being helped by the fact that my bedding is fairly hit and miss as I am sleeping on a Budda Bag extended with a stack of pillows in the living room to spare Holly the “fun” of having to try sleeping next to me.  So thanks to that I am having an increase in the migraine-type headaches that I think are linked to my neck.  You know that lovely kind of headache where it feels like your skull is a few sizes too small and you see lovely splodges of colour dance across your vision.  

The problem is that the advice everybody seems to give for headaches like this is that you should lie still in a dark room… that doesn’t work out for me!  I tried earlier when this one got the the point where I wanted to start hitting myself in the head (voluntarily for once) for the second or so of relief that gives (is that weird?) but Mr Tourette doesn’t like it if I sit still and do nothing.  It’s usually about that time that he wakes up and does a lovely little dance with my body and I get to spectate while trying to find something to distract me.

Thankfully in the end I found a happy medium, I led and read a book for a few hours, using the book to shield me from the brunt of the light in the living room and took some co-codamol in the hope that it will go away (I used to take ibuprofen to soften these headaches, but I can take it with baclofen as it can lead to baclofen toxicity).  

End product:  It still feels like I went one round with a brick and lost… but I have that warm fuzzy “don’t really care about the pain” feeling now, so I guess that’s better than nothing.

Self rating on second blog post:  Weak. 😛

Tags: , , , , , ,

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

Leave a Reply

