Headbanging!

I’ve definitely had a couple of days of bad luck when it comes to hitting my head!  To be honest I’m getting pretty used to knocking and hitting it constantly in the last few months (helped by my helmet-in-disguise) but I’ve had a mini run of particularly bad luck.

The first one was yesterday.  At the moment my friends have a fairly well rehearsed procedure for helping me get into vehicles, we get me down to the bottom of the stairs – because of the violence of the tics it’s preferable to have someone there on the way down and absolutely essential on the way back up – and then I sit at the bottom of the stairs and wait by the door while they pull the car up to the kerb so I can get in.

The steps up to the flat I live in are all edged with metal – I usually hit my head a good few times on the way down but this time I was in a slightly different position and because I’m a fool who forgets to do up the chin strap on his helmet, the helmet moved as I jerked backwards.  The metal edge hit right in the weak spot of the hat where there is a little gap in the pads, and I then have a second of nothing.  My friend was pulling up as this happened and I had what appeared to be a mini fit.  I talked to my doctor about it today (because I have felt like crap all day… splitting headache and generally feeling out of sorts) and he said that he thinks I’m mildly concussed and it may have been a small fit but not to worry.  Apparently as long as I don’t start being sick and acting strange I shouldn’t worry.

Then today, while explaining my hat to another friend online I decided to take a photo of it to show her.  I took it off to take a photo of the inside, and while it was off I ticced and smacked myself hard in the temple with my camera, which is a DSLR with all the softness of a hard plastic brick.  Sod’s law, it wouldn’t have hurt much if I’d been wearing my helmet… now I have a lovely little sore spot and a tiny lump on my temple to go with the sore spot on the back of my head.

Never a dull moment these days 😛

I figure it might be worth mentioning my helmet (hur hur) in case there are others out there with tics that cause them to hit their head a lot.  When I found this I was overjoyed – it means I can protect my head without it actually looking like I’m wearing a helmet!  The chin straps are optional as well, they are fastened with a little piece of velcro and a hoop.  That means they can be easily adjusted and removed.  Apart from the odd bit of bad luck it’s really helped to reduce the amount of beating my head is taking – I wouldn’t even know where to start when it comes to giving a number of times I bang my head on an average day at the moment.  So two pictures… this first one is a hat-selfie I guess and the second is the inside of the hat:

ImageImage

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

2 responses to “Headbanging!”

  1. Andrea Frazer says :

    Hi! I think you are adorable and have a great attitude. have you read “Adventures in Biscuitland?” Jessica Thom writes about much of the same things you do.

Leave a Reply

