My New “Trick”

So I seem to have developed a lovely new “trick” at the moment. Honestly I hate seeing myself tic but it almost makes me want to video this to see how it looks from the outside.  I am having to crawl around my flat at the moment, waiting for this wheelchair to arrive. This probably won’t be as much of a problem once that finally comes and I don’t have to crawl. It goes like this:

I hyper-extend, which often depending on the position I’m in when it happens means that my legs are folded underneath me. Then while I am locked in that position sometimes the knee-to-shoulder tic occurs – it’s a very regular tic in any position at the moment. This usually results in my head being dragged backwards, pulling hard on the ligaments in my feet and then my helmet being dragged off. As the neck tics are constant no matter what position I am in, once the helmet is off, the floor once more becomes even more painful to bang my head on. Seeing a lot of white flashes in my eyes when it happens at the moment. The whole thing usually just ends with me on my back stunned for a second, ticcing and banging my head until I can get my senses back enough to grab the helmet and clip it on.

Just to clear up any confusion, by hyper-extension I refer to the tics where my entire body arches backwards.  Sometimes this is a violent movement, sometimes it is slow.  When I refer to the knee to the shoulder tic I mean that quite literally – I knee myself (with quite a lot of force) in my shoulder.  For some reason this tic seems to be predominantly on my right side, although it does also affect the left.

Wearing shoes inside has helped to a degree, when this happens my feet now slide out from under me a little easier and I’m not getting carpet burn. And if I can tattoo “DO UP YOUR HELMET” on the inside of my eyelids maybe I won’t forget to do that. But I also worry about tearing the clip fastenings on the helmet when I push backwards on the carpet!  This thing cost almost one hundred pounds and I was only able to get it in the first place by asking people for help!

I always think there’s a funny side to this sort of stuff, and to be honest being on my back with my legs and arms flailing about I must sort of look like this, at least this is how it feels:

Image

(Picture property of Reddit user matt01ss)

Tags: , , , , , ,

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

2 responses to “My New “Trick””

  1. The Howling Fantogs says :

    I know what you mean about gating to see yourself tic. I read somewhere that if you stand and watch yourself in the mirror every day, it will reduce tics. It’s bullshit, of course.

Leave a Reply

