Blogging for Mental Health 2014

Blog For Mental Health 2014 badge by Piper Macenzie

BFMH 2014 badge by Piper Macenzie

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma. 

As well as the Tourette’s (which is both neurological and psychological) I also have several co-morbid conditions, which definitely fall under the mental health umbrella – OCD, Depression and possibly ADHD (depending on which doctor you ask).  So I will be displaying this badge on my profile for the rest of the year in the hope that my posts will be of help to somebody.  That was my main aim when starting this blog – the hope that, especially during and after the Deep Brain Stimulation operation!

For more information on the Blog for Mental Health Project, please click this link.

There is also a “Blogroll”, which is a list of blogs participating in the project, located here. 🙂

Tags:

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

4 responses to “Blogging for Mental Health 2014”

  1. The Howling Fantogs says :

    I have never really seen my OCD as a mental health issue, despite knowing that it is. I always just saw it as a series of tricks my mind played on me, which I guess is what a mental health problem is.

    In one of your other posts, you wrote about the stereotypical view of Tourette’s is the swearing and shouting. I have had people talking openly in front of me about the ‘crazy guy with Tourette’s’ they’d just seen in town shouting all these ‘hilarious’ things. They didn’t even realise that they were talking to someone with the same condition. It’s reasons like this that I think awareness is so important.

    How do I get involved with this?

    • unexpectedmonkeys says :

      There’s a link in the blog post that will take you to their blog page where there are instructions on how to join up 🙂
      I spotted it yesterday and thought it was a great idea, and possibly a good chance to get some better info about Tourette’s out there at the same time!

    • Ruby Tuesday says :

      Hi, sorry for leaving a reply more than a month later, but I haven’t really been able to keep up with things in a timely manner. There is in fact a blog post outlining how you can be a part of this campaign, and we’d love for you to join us! The project runs all year long, so don’t feel pressured to make a deadline or anything.

      The post is on A Canvas Of The Minds, specifically Blog For Mental Health 2014. If you have questions beyond that, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me (Ruby) at blogformentalhealth@gmail.com; I’ll be happy to lend any support that I can.

      Take care!

Leave a Reply

