Frustration!

I really want to play my guitar!  I really, really want to play my guitar!

Problem is that I have a worry about the bass damaging my control unit.  Even though I’m pretty sure stuff has healed and my tics aren’t as violent as usual in the last couple of days… still worried.  Damaging the equipment has become something of an obsession at the moment.  Every time I knock my head, catch my chest slightly etc I immediately worry that I’ve damaged it even though thinking about it logically I know that it isn’t that fragile.

I was told by the DBS nurse a few weeks ago that I could give it a go with a cushion or something padding it out but recommended that someone was about just in case.  (Not 100% on that last bit, my memories of hospital appointments are usually a little hazy on account of tic/stress levels.)  But either way, I probably have some foam or bubble wrap hanging around and I think I saw some cable ties in a drawer earlier so I’ll go mad with them and see what happens!*

This is definitely going to be one of the more interesting things to try and get back as I have lost all of the hard skin on my fingers… still have slightly harder finger tips than the average other person, but compared to before: BABY SOFT!  This is probably going to hurt more than the surgery did!

I’ll probably do what I usually do, do a few warmups and then jump in at the deep end with something that will burn my fingers off very quickly for a few weeks – keep myself distracted and keep the tics at bay!  “Pretty Little Ditty” by Red Hot Chili Peppers sounds like a good starting tune…

I’m rambling.  That’s it for this post!

*Probably me somehow getting tangled in cable ties and padding

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Deep Brain Stimulation posts published! | Unexpected Monkeys - May 18, 2015

Leave a Reply

