“Lovely” new tic…

So now my mouth forces itself open – basically past the point where it wants to stop.  Haven’t locked it properly yet but I have now got quite intense jaw pain on the right hand side.  This one has been going on for a couple of weeks now!  Complete pain in the face!

Oh well – can’t ever accuse the Tourette’s of not mixing it up a little from time to time!  This tic isn’t new as such – much like with a lot of the tics that have come about in this last year it seems to be a vastly worsened version of a previous tic.  It does mean however that I’m having to hit the pain meds again.  Also it keeps hijacking yawns!  I’ll be halfway into a yawn, which is already hurting as a result of this tic,  and BOOM suddenly my mouth is at full extension and I’m clutching my face!

Weirdly the pain is focused around my right hand side – but I think that might be because I already have some damage on that side.  I have found that if I put pressure on it with my fingers during the over-widening part that it reduces the pain a little, but that’s not quite so helpful when I’m in the middle of one of those stunning combo-move tics and my hands are otherwise pre-occupied being stretched out or hitting other parts of me!

I did talk to a doctor and they said it’s unlikely that I will do any permanent damage, but obviously there is not much they can do at the moment apart from suggest that I take painkillers and grin and bear it.

On the bright side, I am now a pro at catching flies when I’m out in my wheelchair! *spit spit spit*

Tags: , , , , ,

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

5 responses to ““Lovely” new tic…”

  1. The Howling Fantogs says :

    Hey. Was wondering where you were. I’m familiar with the jaw thing. That’s an old friend of mine.

Leave a Reply

