Minor update :)

It’s been a little over a fortnight now, I thought maybe it’s time for an update – before I procrastinate myself in to a hole again!

So far the results are great!  Not going to build it up to be something it’s not – I am still having the full range of tics, still can’t walk without hurting my knees/head and still can’t handle hot things without beakers etc.  The change is there though – I am noticeably calmer than beforehand!

To give an example for comparison, today I went to town with Holly.  I did still need her behind my wheelchair because I was losing control from time to time because of the arching backwards and I still had to be incredibly careful not to kick people (legs still not the best at control!).  A few months ago this would have been a much more major occasion!  I have some minor aches and pains right now – but it doesn’t feel like I’ve been beaten up!

There have been some odd side effects though – trying to note stuff down when it occurs more than a couple of times or sticks around for a few days.  First and foremost the vocal tics seem to be affected by the stimulation markedly less than the motor tics – Holly has taken to calling me “noisy” as a nickname!  Other side effects have been things like:

  • Getting panicky for little/no reason
  • General “brain-fog”
  • Tiredness

It’s kinda late at night right now and I’m falling asleep – probably missing out loads that I wanted to get in to this post but I’m going to have to call it quits!  My eyes are closing as I write this!  As with other posts – it will not be published publicly for a while yet, not until I get the go-ahead anyway!

Tags: , , , ,

About unexpectedmonkeys

My name is Al, I was diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome in my mid teens and it has definitely not improved with time! I’ve discovered how interesting it can make life but I’ve always tried to keep a positive attitude and keep moving forwards.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Deep Brain Stimulation posts published! | Unexpected Monkeys - May 18, 2015

Leave a Reply

